Business of PhotographyFears in moving forward

The place for working professionals and enthusiasts to come together and discuss the Business of Photography.
Learn from the pros what it takes to build and maintain a successful professional photography business.
Duck
Key Founding Member
Key Founding Member
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: No, please do not edit my images

Fears in moving forward

Postby Duck » Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:31 am

This is more a post to openly vent internal frustrations. I'm sure the ensuing discussion will help me sort my head out and possibly give me a different view of my situation.

I have been an artist all my life. 20 years of that has been as a tattoo artist/illustrator. Prior to that I was a commercial graphic artist. Amidst all that I have always had a camera at hand but it was never my primary medium of choice. My hands, with pen to paper, have always been my bread maker. Ten years ago (damn how time flies) I moved from film to digital and it re-sparked my love of photography. About five years ago my goal was that I would move into commercial photography once I lost interest/became unable to continue as a tattoo artist. To that goal I pushed myself to really learn the craft of creating quality images. I still have a ways to go but we all know that learning never really stops, but I feel I am at a point where I can hold my own and provide a decent product.

This past year has been a non stop flow of work in my tattooing business. So much so that if I had the room for an additional artist here that artist would have a full schedule. For now it is just two of us, myself and my other artist, Jeannine. While it's good to be busy it is a double edged sword. Regular customers now have to wait longer to get chair time and I have to work longer hours to keep up with the demand which means less time for family and other interests (photo clubs, workshops, etc.) let alone any mental and physical stress from the overload.