“It is better to inspire than direct." —Sheryl Sandberg

Idle ChitchatHi Everyone

General Lounge - This is the official "any-topic" portion of the site. Stop in, say "hello", comment on photo or non-photo related topics, vent your frustrations or just chill out. The choice is yours.
PietFrancke
Mentoris Centurion
Mentoris Centurion
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: Yes, feel free to edit my image

Hi Everyone

Postby PietFrancke » Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:36 pm

I will make this about ME, since I don't know you guys yet. I know a handful of you guys, you know who you are! I promise most of me won't be about ME.

I am a hobbyist that is drawn in multiple directions. I am a slow learner, but with persistence I usually end up getting somewhere (perhaps not where I wanted to be). I circle, leave and return. I'm retired, but went back to work and take off many days. Life is good and I find it very easy to entertain myself.

My best success (something that I did that turned out well - satisfied me) was going on vacation with my best friend (my wife) and taking a picture of a juvenile eagle in Washington state. I took that image and made islands of vectors and took those vectors to a CNC machine and carved out pieces that were then glued back together. Round and round I go learning new things but always being very stupid about so much that I don't know.

I hope I live a long time, I have so much more playing that I wish to do! Anyway, I look forward to getting to know you guys and I will spend much quality time here learning more.

p1.jpg
the juvenile eagle

p2.jpg
drawing the vectors

p3.jpg
the result

minniev
Mentoris Secundus
Mentoris Secundus

Re: Hi Everyone

Postby minniev » Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:57 pm

Welcome, Piet, I know you have lots to offer as a member, so I'm glad to see you here and hope you'll hang around. You'll find familiar faces and new ones too.

I love your eagle in all his forms, and am intrigued with the way you combine woodworking with photography.