"The most difficult thing is the decision to act. The rest is merely tenacity." —Amelia Earhart

Digital EditingUsing Luminosity Masks - Beginner's Question :)

Post-processing: Editing techniques, software and other resources.
From simple corrections to multi-layered edits, actions, tone mapping and more.
SuzanneR
Mentoris Novus
Mentoris Novus
Editing option: No, please do not edit my images

Using Luminosity Masks - Beginner's Question :)

Postby SuzanneR » Sun Dec 14, 2014 9:02 pm

Hi, I'm just getting started learning to use luminosity masks. I became interested in learning about them because I am hoping that some of my landscape photos, taken in less-than-optimal lighting conditions, can benefit from using LMs to even out and enhance tones. I have an OK grasp on the mechanics of how to use them, but so far I'm noticing that some photos, which I've already processed from a RAW state, and then processed "normally", don't look a whole lot different from ones that I painstakingly process using luminosity masks. However, I do "get" why luminosity masks can be beneficial. So I'm hoping someone with a lot of experience in this area can explain to me what to look for when selecting an image that could benefit from luminosity masks vs. "traditional" or HDR (in the case where I have multiple exposures of the same shot available) processing. Thanks in advance!

Onslow
Key Founding Member
Key Founding Member
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: Yes, you can edit but ask me first

Re: Using Luminosity Masks - Beginner's Question :)

Postby Onslow » Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:14 am

Hi Suzanne. :) Thanks for bringing this up. I played with them a yr or two but at that stage didn't appreciate them very much. Once I saw your question it has piqued my interest in them again. I have found this site http://goodlight.us/writing/luminositymasks/luminositymasks-1.html which offers some information for me to explore with some of my landscape work. Perhaps it may be of benefit to you?