"Don't sit down and wait for the opportunities to come. Get up and make them." —Madam C.J. Walker

Image ProcessingBuild your own "Sliding-Box" Cameras

JamesRKyle
Mentoris Novus
Mentoris Novus
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: No, please do not edit my images

Build your own "Sliding-Box" Cameras

Post by JamesRKyle » Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:40 pm

Recently, I have built three "Sliding-Box" Cameras. I wish to know if anyone here has done so?

The experiments that I have been doing with Photographic-Paper as Film in view cameras, led me to design and build the "sliding-box" cameras. These are Not really traditional cameras, as they are built about ideas I have had and modern materials used = i.e. Lenses and Film Holders. It was more of a work of love for photography. (something that I have been doing for over 55 years.) And too = I just wanted a camera that I made from plain wood and extra parts.

I began with a 3X4 Speed Graphic focal plane spring back - (where the ground glass is held, and where the film holder would go). The lens I used was a 127 mm lens from the old Speed Graphic camera that was beyond repair - ( Later changed this with a lens from 1901 by Busch & Lomb that had a pneumatic shutter system).

The Next was a 4X5 - And as for the "ground glass" I used Plexiglas with frosted tape on it to make a focusing area like a "ground-glass" (don't knock it - as It Works).

The photographs are of the finished cameras.... More details later If Anyone Wishes To Have.

Please know that there are NO "plans" for the building of these... The Idea are in my mind and just came into reality by just Doing IT. (I do have a few sketches from my notebook I will share.

I have attached photographs for everyone's understanding of "what and how" ....

Questions are encouraged.

James.

12_B-C_P1000154.jpg
Sliding-Box 3x4 Model #1
33_P1000196.jpg
Sliding-Box 4X5 Model #2
26_P1000190.jpg
Model #2 Rear View
27_P1000189.jpg
Model #2 Focal Plane
P1000277.jpg