• Administrator
“It’s not whether you get knocked down, it’s whether you get up.” —Vince Lombardi

Photography DiscussionCanon 1dx problem

Post Reply
User avatar
pop511
Mentoris Centurion
Mentoris Centurion
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 2:29 am
Location: Sydney,Australia
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: Yes, feel free to edit my image
Contact:

Canon 1dx problem

Post by pop511 » Sun Aug 13, 2017 1:44 pm

Have returned to Aussie to do a photo shoot next Saturday. Having picked up my 24-70L from Canon Manila repairs on the way to the airport.
What the camera is doing is take a shot ( raw ) 22MG..OK
Then the next picture taken has a gray horizontal bar across the middle. Gray vertical strips, and is nearly white, but the meg now reads 54MG!!
This continues as one out of every two is corrupt.
Occasionally the corrupt picture will be the first picture taken.

Lens/cards and batteries changed. Settings checked.
ed
ed davis

User avatar
minniev
Mentoris Primus
Mentoris Primus
Posts: 1872
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 3:55 am
Location: Mississippi
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: Yes, feel free to edit my image
Contact:

Post by minniev » Sun Aug 13, 2017 6:09 pm

Don't know a thing about the Canon 1 dx but the behavior sounds ominous and if you've ruled out a corrupted card or bad battery, I'd be taking it to the Camera Hospital. Doubling file size is very weird. Hope someone who knows something about your camera will show up.

Since we have such a wide-ranging forum and a small "family", we may not have anyone who uses your specific model, though. For camera-specific problems I usually post on the DPR site, where there's separate forum sections for specific cameras and lots of tech-geeks that like to answer questions. They don't much like to talk about photography over there but they love to talk about cameras. Just a thought!
"God gave me photography so that I could pray with my eyes" - Dewitt Jones

User avatar
pop511
Mentoris Centurion
Mentoris Centurion
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 2:29 am
Location: Sydney,Australia
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: Yes, feel free to edit my image
Contact:

Post by pop511 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 10:04 am

Camera goes in tomorrow. When I get it back I'll post result up. Then we'll all know...
ed
ed davis

User avatar
minniev
Mentoris Primus
Mentoris Primus
Posts: 1872
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 3:55 am
Location: Mississippi
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: Yes, feel free to edit my image
Contact:

Post by minniev » Mon Aug 14, 2017 7:29 pm

pop511 wrote:Camera goes in tomorrow. When I get it back I'll post result up. Then we'll all know...
ed

Hope it turns out well, or at the very least, isn't too expensive!
"God gave me photography so that I could pray with my eyes" - Dewitt Jones

User avatar
Duck
Key Founding Member
Key Founding Member
Posts: 2066
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:31 am
Location: Shelton, CT
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: Yes, feel free to edit my image
Contact:

Post by Duck » Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:38 pm

You should post a couple sample images so people can see what a corrupt file looks like. In the event it ever pops up for someone else they'll be able to recognize it as a potential issue.
"If you didn't learn something new today, you wasted a day."
Image ImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
pop511
Mentoris Centurion
Mentoris Centurion
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 2:29 am
Location: Sydney,Australia
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: Yes, feel free to edit my image
Contact:

Post by pop511 » Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:46 pm

Canon have reported back.
There is mold inside the body. It is the rainy season in Filo, so that is where it came from, and yes, I am very particular how I pack my gear. The camera has taken 22,000 pictures and it is still in pristine condition.
The cost is a staggering ( in aussie money ) $3466
of which the labour is $428
I can get a 5DS for a few dollars more.
They did give me the option to replace the camera body for $2200 and give 1 years warranty

It leaves me curious....
They did email me pictures taken of inside the camera showing the mold...OK
But how did they come up with this nutty pricing??
The mold must be on the internal parts and inside the shell of the body
So is it?...Clean the various parts and shell = $3466
Clean the parts and replace the shell = $2200.....Seems logical.

Also no boards need replacing...So I'm going to perform drastic ""chemical"" surgery without touching the inside of the camera. If it works hooray! If I blow it up. I still haven't lost.

So what now?
I'm on a pension so replacement or a 5DS is a no go.
I'll go back to using my 1DSMk2 and when or if that falls over....bye!!!
ed
ed davis

User avatar
minniev
Mentoris Primus
Mentoris Primus
Posts: 1872
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 3:55 am
Location: Mississippi
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: Yes, feel free to edit my image
Contact:

Post by minniev » Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:00 am

Now that's a depressing answer from Canon! You have my sympathy. I'm glad you've got a backup till you figure out what to do next. Keep us posted, and show us some great photos with the 1DS. The best camera is always the one you have with you anyway.
"God gave me photography so that I could pray with my eyes" - Dewitt Jones

User avatar
St3v3M
Key Founding Member
Key Founding Member
Posts: 3004
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 1:02 am
Location: 35,000 feet
Social Media Opt-In: Yes
Editing option: Yes, feel free to edit my image
Contact:

Post by St3v3M » Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:46 am

I'm not sure what to say other than you took the news well and I'm glad you had a second body to rely on. Wow. S-
"Take photographs, leave footprints, steal hearts"

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests